justforfun_banner
My latest obsession, when I’m not volunteering with my library’s millage campaign, is sorting through the Library of Congress’ Flickr Photostream. Rarely do I look through a Flickr account and feel consistently excited or impacted by the images. In another life, I was an aspiring documentary filmmaker; maybe that’s why these photos speak to me so much.

girlwithdoll_loc

Maybe it’s the nostalgia for my grandparents’ generation that the set 1930s-40s in Color evokes. I could go on all day about these photos, but your time would be better spent perusing these images yourself.

paintingplane_loc

A final note: If you love old-timey music in addition to vintage photographs, I recommend listening to Carolina Cotton Radio on Last.fm while clicking through the photos.

All images used in this post are in the public domain and are available at the Library of Congress’ Flickr Photostream.

